The (Un) Caged Bird

"Let the beauty we love be what we do." – Rumi

LIFE: An Everyday Angel

2 Comments

I sat at a stoplight this morning immersed in my thoughts, musing over the closing of Jillian’s and the opening of the new pub on the ground floor.  I wondered why they added the sign as an annex to Jillian’s if it was closed and why they didn’t just take it down.  Obviously, my thoughts were of nothing important yet I was totally consumed by them and not the present moment I found myself in.

My wandering mind suddenly noticed movement outside my passenger window and I was catapulted back to the here and now.  A construction worker was working on the street and saying something to me, that I couldn’t understand and had been too distracted to fully catch.  I rolled down my window and he said, “I just wanted to tell you good morning.  I want you to have a beautiful day today.  It doesn’t matter what happens to you or what you do, make it a beautiful day.”   I felt like he had been sent as a messenger to remind me of the importance of everyday grace, and controlling one’s thoughts and emotions. As I drove away I thought about how cold it is and this poor man is outside working in it.  He sure isn’t going to let that get him down though.  His attitude and perspective brought him the warmth he needed to carry on and do his duties.

I wanted to share this experience of my encounter with an ordinary yet extraordinary everyday angel.  It’s difficult sometimes to remember that we are all connected and impact one another.  I hope to remain more mindful and not let the negative consume me and poison my day, leading to my poisoning the environment of those around me with my bad attitude.  If we all took a moment to smile, say good morning, help someone in need, or offer encouragement and wisdom as this man did we could make this world a better place.  Tell someone that you love them today, hug them, tell someone they did a great job, or give a dollar to a homeless person.  Do something.

Author: theuncagedbird

Sensitive and soulful with a heart that spans oceans, and an armor of ice. Lover of simplicity and beauty. Educated at a liberal arts school, gained knowledge through life. Passionate about food, clothing, art, poetry, books, fast modes of transportation, and slow ways of life. A hero less heroine navigating the oceans of humanity.

2 thoughts on “LIFE: An Everyday Angel

  1. At the time this happened I was struggling with feeling a lack of support in my life, this strangers comment was so random and well timed it instantly re-connected me to a higher power and gave me the support I needed to get through that day. So glad you enjoyed the story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

