The (Un) Caged Bird

"Let the beauty we love be what we do." – Rumi

Floating Through the Clouds

Leave a comment

Up in the air, I’m not sure where!

I’ve been traveling by plane since I was a week old so the experience has become pretty familiar.  I’d gone from being in awe of it to being annoyed and focusing on only the things I despised (yes, despised).  I had begun to seriously dislike flying because of this lame perspective I’d chosen to adopt. On my last trip to Europe I decided my attitude needed to change.

So, I changed my perspective and made the notes below.

I love clouds.

I love floating through clouds.

I love being surrounded by clouds.

I sat and pondered about the nature of clouds..

What makes them collect, congregate, and gather as they do?  Why do they appear white? Where does the stuff come from they are made from? How is it determined which elevation they’ll hang out on?  HowStuffWorks wrote an excellent article on “How Clouds Work” answering most of these questions. 

One of the Greek isles at sunrise.

I then drew some conclusions on my pondering..

Being able to soar through the clouds is a gift. Can you imagine how many of our ancestors must have longed to do this?  We take for granted what many, many, many generations could only dream of doing.  When you look at things from that perspective being in a plane is kind of like being a part of magic.

If you love clouds too click on some of the great links below.
10 Rare Cloud Formations

Weird, Rare Clouds and How They Form

Make Your Own Cloud in a Bottle

A cloud song! – Clouds Are Cool – by Christopher Strand

Nebula’s Cool Clouds

Over 16,000 Cool Cloud Images in this Flickr Group!

The next time you’re getting ready to fly somewhere try and think of what a privilege it is and of all the cool sights you’ll be able to see from the perspective of being up in air!  It helps to have something to look forward to besides *insert standard complaints about air travel here*.

Author: theuncagedbird

Sensitive and soulful with a heart that spans oceans, and an armor of ice. Lover of simplicity and beauty. Educated at a liberal arts school, gained knowledge through life. Passionate about food, clothing, art, poetry, books, fast modes of transportation, and slow ways of life. A hero less heroine navigating the oceans of humanity.

Leave a Reply

