The (Un) Caged Bird

"Let the beauty we love be what we do." – Rumi

Think Kit Day 4: My Wisest Decision of 2012

Leave a comment

“I found that every single successful person I’ve ever spoken to had a turning point and the turning point was where they made a clear, specific, unequivocal decision that they were not going to live like this anymore. Some people make that decision at 15 and some people make it at 50 and most never make it at all.”

 

– Brian Tracy, (via @thedailylove)

 

By far the wisest decision I made this year was to quit smoking.   I wrote about quitting in my post, “How I Quit Smoking Cold Turkey”. Quitting cigarettes was more than just a step to become a healthier person, quitting was the first step in building my self esteem and learning to respect and love myself.   In quitting, I chose for me.  I made myself more important than a habit and proved to myself that I have the willpower, strength, courage, and tenacity to overcome difficult obstacles. I learned that I can be there for myself and support  myself and I don’t need a toxic substance to be my comforting friend.  I can be that comforting friend for myself.  Quitting started a domino effect of developing healthier lifestyle habits and was the catalyst I needed to stop self sabotage and jump on the boat of self love.  I quit in April and I’m proud to say that seven months later I haven’t had a single puff.

 

Author: theuncagedbird

Sensitive and soulful with a heart that spans oceans, and an armor of ice. Lover of simplicity and beauty. Educated at a liberal arts school, gained knowledge through life. Passionate about food, clothing, art, poetry, books, fast modes of transportation, and slow ways of life. A hero less heroine navigating the oceans of humanity.

Leave a Reply

