The (Un) Caged Bird

"Let the beauty we love be what we do." – Rumi

Think Kit Day 9: Exercise to unwind

Leave a comment

 

I haven’t considered myself an active or athletic person for a long time.   In quitting smoking this year I really turned to exercise and physical exercise to help me reduce stress.   During the past year I participated in ballet lessons, a 30 day unlimited yoga package, tried burlesque once, walked and ran outside during the hot summer months, and then as fall came and the days shortened I joined a gym.

I find that I enjoy exercise that is fun and doesn’t make me feel like I’m working out.   I really enjoy dance classes and dance type cardio workouts like Zumba.   Participating in physical activities is a major stress reliever for me as when I’m engaged in doing something I’m present and focused in that moment and really in my body and not daydreaming in my head somewhere.   Also, the breathing learned in pilates and yoga is very helpful to use to get through day to day stressors.   When I take yoga and pilates weekly I feel as if I’m nurturing my body because I allow it to stretch, extend, relax, and be quiet and focused yet engaged and present.

In 2013, I plan to become even more active physically.   I have gained the dreaded quitting smoking 15 lbs in 2012 and it is my goal to work that off in the first quarter of the new year.  Time for new adventures in getting lean and toned.

What are your favorite activities to unwind?

Author: theuncagedbird

Sensitive and soulful with a heart that spans oceans, and an armor of ice. Lover of simplicity and beauty. Educated at a liberal arts school, gained knowledge through life. Passionate about food, clothing, art, poetry, books, fast modes of transportation, and slow ways of life. A hero less heroine navigating the oceans of humanity.

Leave a Reply

